Fenestration Review

Articles Codes & Standards
The IGMAC certification program

January 16, 2013  By Margaret Webb

The Insulating Glass Manufacturers Association of Canada, part of the
Insulating Glass Manufacturers Alliance, offers a certification program
for products tested to the Canada General Standards Board 12.8 standard
plus gas content certification.

The Insulating Glass Manufacturers Association of Canada, part of the Insulating Glass Manufacturers Alliance, offers a certification program for products tested to the Canada General Standards Board 12.8 standard plus gas content certification. Products certified by IGMAC meet the highest levels of the CGSB 12.8, giving buyers assurance that the products are among the best available anywhere. Lately, the IGMA has made several changes and updates to the program.

Effective immediately, all annual certification program fees will be invoiced in November of the preceding year. All annual certification fees are due in the IGMA office no later than Dec. 31 of the preceding year in order for a program participant to remain in good standing in the IGMAC Certification Program. This year, invoices for the 2013 annual program participants fees were invoiced in November 2012 and must be received at the IGMA offices no later than Dec. 31, 2012, in order for the member to remain in good standing and be included in the Certified Products Directory.

 Since 2010, the U.S. and Canadian Energy Star programs have required that qualified fenestration products use certified insulating glass units. The IGMAC Certification Program is one of the listed programs. In order to maintain the IGMAC Certification Program as a listed program for both NFRC and the Energy Star programs, a new testing protocol has been added. Effective Jan. 1, 2013, all new prototype products and products requiring retesting due to either failure or recertification must provide four samples fabricated with internal components for the volatile fog test procedure. These units will not be required to undergo high humidity or weather cycling testing. Internal components may include, but are not limited to, blinds, films, decorative glass inserts, grills and muntins.


When testing muntins or grills, test samples shall be fabricated by dividing the sample into nine equal areas (three by three). It is recognized that a given company may use numerous internal components in production units and that it is not practical to test all variations regularly. Guidelines are published at www.igmaonline.org that explain how to submit products with internal components for testing.

Based on comments received on the 2010 Bulletin on Equivalencies and Waivers, IGMA formed component task groups to review the comments, policies and procedures of the IGMAC Certification Program. The IGMA Sealant Task Group met online during the 2010 and 2011 fiscal years to review the current sealant component codes, qualification and equivalency procedures and recommendations to simplify the program. The task group’s findings were reported at the IGMA semi-annual membership meetings, in the IGMA electronic newsletter and on the IGMA website.

In order for a sealant to qualify for equivalency, at least one IGMAC certified product must have been tested with this sealant and successfully met all the IGMAC Certification Program requirements.

The IGMA maintains a Certified Products Directory that includes the name and location of each participating manufacturer and a generic description of the product as certified. IGMA maintains a list of component equivalencies grouped by generic component types. Components listed within a generic category are considered equivalent for the IGMAC certification purposes. The Certified Products Directory is made available through the IGMA website to public and private sector architects, specifiers, building code authorities, and other interested parties.

The Task Group identified circumstances under which changes can be made to generic components of a product without triggering a retest or recertification of the product. It also laid out a set of standards for determining equivalency in sealants. Sealant categories have been updated and simplified. Specifics of all these changes are available on the IGMA website.

Margaret Webb is the executive director of the Insulating Glass Manufacturer’s Alliance.

Print this page


Stories continue below


7 Comments » for The IGMAC certification program
  1. Avatar photo Ralph Brook says:

    I am a building engineer in Hamilton, Ontario. Can you provide me with some guidance on the acceptable Estimated Useful Life (EUL) cycle for existing thermopane glazing in residential high rise apartment buildings and the same for high rise office buildings having curtain wall construction
    In the past we have been using 40 years as a guide when doing reserve fund studies. However recently my colleagues have reduced the EUL to 25 to 30 years
    What is the industry standard?

    • Avatar photo Patrick Flannery says:

      Hi, Ralph. The IGMAC program is now administered by the Fenestration and Glazing Industry Alliance, which is comprised of the merged AAMA and IGMA. I recommend you contact Amy Roberts there – she is the director of Canadian technical affairs. Website = fgiaonline.org

  2. Avatar photo Amy Roberts says:

    Available references we would recommend is:
    IGMA 25 Year Field Correlation Study TR-4000 (1980-2005) and is available for purchase the FGIA Website.

    Best regards,
    Amy Roberts

    can i consider IGCC is equivalent to AMGA or both are different

  4. Avatar photo Edwin Ragbir says:

    I have a home in Windsor, Ontario the windows facing eastside has the rubber liner leaking away from the glass.

    Is there someone you can recommend to help with this problem?

  5. Avatar photo Anna Szpak says:

    I have just purchased a home that has your windows. 2 of the windows have broken sash releases. I was wondering how I can acquire replacements.

    • Avatar photo Patrick Flannery says:

      Hi, Anna. I would recommend contacting the window manufacturer, if you can ascertain who it is. IGMAC certifies the insulating glass units in the window, not the frame or hardware.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *